Is your iPhone Showing Photos in storage, even after you have clearly deleted all the photos from your iPhone? You will find below the steps to fix the issue of iPhone showing deleted photos in storage.
iPhone Showing Deleted Photos in Storage
Most users come across the issue of iPhone Showing Deleted Photos in storage when they try to clear storage space on iPhone by deleting all the Photos.
However, they are surprised to see Photos taking up storage space on iPhone, even after all the Photos have been clearly deleted on iPhone.
This issue is certainly not due to bug in iOS software and there is a good reason as to why Deleted Photos are still showing up in the storage section of your iPhone.
Why Does iPhone Show Deleted Photos in Storage
First, let us try to understand the reason for iPhone showing photos in storage, when you have clearly deleted them from your device.
When you delete photos from iPhone or iPad, the photos are not actually deleted or removed from your device.
Instead of removing Photos from your device, the deleted photos are simply moved from Camera Roll and Photos Albums to “Recently Deleted” folder within the Photos App.
The deleted photos remain in “Recently Deleted” folder for a period of 30 days, after which they are automatically removed from storage.
In case you are wondering, the reason for deleted photos being kept in “Recently Deleted” folder is to allow recovery of Photos in case you accidentally delete them.
Fix iPhone Showing Deleted Photos in Storage
As you must have already guessed, the solution for this issue is to simply clear the recently deleted folder on your iPhone.
This will permanently delete Photos from your iPhone and they will no longer show up in the storage section of iPhone.
Before going ahead, you need to understand that this process is not reversible and you won’t be able to recover photos, once they are removed from “recently deleted” folder.
1. Open the Photos App on your iPhone and tap on Albums tab located in the bottom menu bar.
2. On the next screen, scroll down to “Other Albums” section and tap on Recently Deleted.
3. Once you are in “Recently Deleted” Album, tap on the Select option located at the top right corner.
4. Next, tap on Delete All option located at the bottom left corner to delete all photos from your iPhone or iPad
5. On the confirmation pop-up, tap on Yes to Confirm that you do want to permanently delete all the Photos from your iPhone.
6. Patiently wait for all the Photos to be deleted from your device. Once the Photos are deleted, you will see a blank “Recently Deleted” Folder.
Now, when you go back to the storage section, you will no longer see deleted photos taking up storage space on your iPhone.