Knowing about what happens when someone blocks you on Telegram can help you find out and confirm if someone has indeed blocked you on Telegram.
What Happens When Someone Blocks You on Telegram
Similar to WhatsApp and other messaging Apps, Telegram provides the option to block anyone that is bothering you with unwanted calls/messages or if there is someone that you no longer want to deal with.
Knowing about what happens when someone blocks you in Telegram can be useful, in order to see whether the person you want to block will figure out that they have indeed been blocked.
Hence, let us go ahead and take a look at what exactly happens when someone blocks you on Telegram.
1. Single Check Mark
When you send a message on Telegram, you will see a single checkmark next to the sent message. This indicates that the message has left your device and has been delivered to the recipients device.
Whenever your message is opened and seen by the recipient, you will see two check marks next to the sent message. This confirms that your message has been seen and you can expect a reply.
Now, if you only see a single checkmark next to the sent message for a long period of time, it is possible that your contact has either blocked you or he/she is not at all active on Telegram.
2. Last Seen Status Not Changing
If the “Last seen Status” of the person does not change or remains the same for a long period of time, it indicates that your contact has either blocked you or has decided to prevent people from vieweing “Last Seen”.
You can check the “Last Seen” of any of your contacts by taking a look at their chats.
If the chat is not available, open Telegram > go to the Contacts tab > select the suspected Contact > On the Contact’s Info screen, you will see “Last Seen” below the Contact’s Name.
If the Contact’s last seen status reads “Last seen a long time ago”, it is possible that the Contact has blocked you.
3. Change in Profile Picture
When you open a Telegram account, it provides the option to upload a photo or use a sticker or emoj as your profile picture.
If you decide not to upload a photo or use a sticker or emoji as your profile, Telegram makes use of your initials and randomly selects any color to automatically create a profile icon.
If the profile of your contact has suddenly changed from a Photo, Sticker or Emoji to Initials, it indicates the possibility of this contact having blocked you on his/her Telegram account.
4. Can’t Make Voice or Video Calls
In addition to text messages, Telegram provides the option to make voice and video calls to any of your contacts. However, Telegram also provides the option to allow only text messages and prevent voice and video calls.
Hence, not being able to make voice and video calls does not necessarily indicate the possibiity of being blocked on Telegram, unless you were previously able to call the person and now you cannot.