If you are thinking in terms of muting someone on WhatsApp, you might be interested in knowing what happens When you mute someone on WhatsApp.
What Happens When You Mute Anyone on WhatsApp
WhatsApp provides the option to mute both individual and group contacts, which can be useful for blocking message notifications from a busy WhatsApp group or less important individual contacts.
When you mute someone on WhatsApp, you won’t be receiving message or call notifications, whenever the muted group or individual contact sends you a message or tries to call you on WhatsApp.
In your WhatsApp account, you will see a crossed microphone icon next to the group or individual chat that you have muted, while there will be no change on the muted persons WhatsApp account.
WhatsApp does not send mute notifications when you mute any group or individual contact. Hence, the muted contacts won’t be able to tell whether or not you have muted them.
Difference Between Mute and Block in WhatsApp
When you block someone on WhatsApp, the blocked contact won’t be able to send you messages, see your status updates, your profile picture and check your activity on WhatsApp.
In comparison, when you mute someone on WhatsApp, the muted contact will still be able to send you messages, but WhatsApp won’t be notifying you whenever a muted contact sends you a message or tries to call you.
Hence, blocking someone on WhatsApp is only suitable when you no longer want to receive any calls or messages from that person and you have no intention of getting in touch with that person.
Muting someone in WhatsApp is suitable, if you are trying to take a temporary break and do not want to be bothered by messages and calls from a particular person or certain contacts.
How to Mute Individual & Group Contacts on WhatsApp
You can mute an individual or group contact on WhatsApp by following the steps below.
1. Open WhatsApp > switch to Chats tab and tap on Chat of the person that you want to Mute.
2. On the next screen, tap on the Name or Phone Number of the Contact.
3. On Contact’s info screen, select the Mute option.
4. On the pop-up, select the Time Period up to which you want to Mute this particular Contact.
After this, you won’t be receivng messages and message notifications from this particular contact for the selected time period.