If you are thinking in terms of Blocking someone on WhatsApp, you might be interested in knowing What Happens When You Block Someone on WhatsApp.
What Happens When you Block Someone on WhatsApp
WhatsApp provides the option to Block both individual and Group Contacts, which can be useful for preventing annoying or unwanted Contacts from bothering you with calls and messages.
When you Block someone on WhatsApp, the blocked Contact won’t be able to send you messages, see your status updates or the profile picture and check your activity on WhatsApp.
WhatsApp does not send a notification when you block any individual or Group Contact. Hence, blocked Contacts won’t be tell whether or not you have blocked them on WhatsApp.
However, there are certain signs that can provide a clue about being blocked on WhatsApp, as mentioned in this guide: How to Find if Someone Has Blocked You On WhatsApp
Summary of What Happens When You Block Anyone on WhatsApp
Here is a summary of what exactly happens when you block a Group or Individual Contact on WhatsApp.
1. The blocked person will not receive a notification from WhatsApp about being blocked.
3. Messages sent by blocked Contacts will never show up on your Phone and they will never be delivered to you.
4. Blocking someone in WhatsApp will not remove them from your WhatsApp Contact list, nor will it remove you from the WhatsApp Contact List of the other person.
Difference Between Block and Mute on WhatsApp
As mentioned above, when you Block anyone on WhatsApp, the blocked Person won’t be able to send you messages, see your status updates, your profile picture and check your activity on WhatsApp.
In comparison, when you Mute someone on WhatsApp, the Muted individual or Group Contact will still be able to send you Messages and you will be able to read their Messages.
The only change that happens in case of Muted Contacts is that WhatsApp stops sending notifications when a Muted Contact sends you a Message or tries to Call you on WhatsApp.
When to Use Mute and Block on WhatsApp?
The Block function in WhatsApp is only suitable when you no longer want to recieve any calls or messages from that person and you have no intention of getting in touch with that person.
Muting someone in WhatsApp is suitable, if you are trying to take a temporary break and do not want to be bothered by Messages and Calls from a particular person or certain Contacts.
How to Block Individual & Group Contacts on WhatsApp
You can Block an individual or Group Contact on WhatsApp by following the steps below.
1. Open WhatsApp > switch to Chats tab and tap on Chat of the person that you want to Mute.
2. On the next screen, tap on the Name or Phone Number of the Contact.
Note: You will only see the Phone Number, if the Contact is not listed in the Contacts List.
3. On Contact’s Info screen, scroll down and tap on Block Contact option.
The contact will be added to list of blocked WhatsApp Contacts on your iPhone.