WhatsApp makes it easy to prevent people from bothering you with unwanted messages and calls by blocking them. You will find below the steps to block Someone in WhatsApp on iPhone.
Block Someone in WhatsApp On iPhone
The steps to block someone in WhatsApp vary a bit depending on whether or not you have a recent WhatsApp Message from the person that you want to block.
If you have a recent Message or Call, you can block this person right away from the Chats or Calls screen in WhatsApp on your iPhone.
However, if you have deleted all WhatsApp Messages from the person that you want to block, you will have to block the person by going to WhatsApp Settings.
You will find below two different methods to block someone in WhatsApp, you can use any method that suits your case.
1. Block Someone in WhatsApp From Chats Tab
As mentioned above, the easiest way to block someone in WhatsApp on iPhone is to do it right from the Chats screen.
1. Open WhatsApp > tap on Chats Tab in bottom menu and select the Chat of the person that you want to block in WhatsApp.
2. On the next screen, tap on the Name or Number of the person.
Note: You will only see the Phone Number, if the Contact is not listed in the Contacts List.
3. On Contact’s Info screen, scroll down and tap on Block Contact option.
The contact will be added to list of blocked WhatsApp Contacts on your iPhone.
2. Block Someone in WhatsApp Using Settings
This method is suitable, if you have deleted all WhatsApp messages from the person that you want to block and do not want to receive any further messages.
1. Open WhatsApp and tap on Settings tab located in bottom menu.
2. From the Settings screen, navigate to Account > Privacy > Blocked > Add New.
3. On the next screen, select the Contact that you want to block.
The selected Contact will be immediately added to list of blocked WhatsApp Contacts on your iPhone.
How to Unblock Someone in WhatsApp on iPhone
At any time, you can Unblock a previously blocked Contact in WhatsApp by following the steps below.
1. Open WhatsApp and tap on Settings tab in bottom menu.
2. From the Settings screen, navigate to Account > Privacy > Blocked.
3. On the blocked screen, select the Contact that you want to unblock.
4. On the Contacts Info screen, scroll down and tap on Unblock Contact.
Note: You can also slide the Contact to the left and tap on the Unblock button.
Note: If you unblock a contact, you will not receive any calls or messages that person sent you during the time they were blocked.
What Happens When you Block Someone in WhatsApp on iPhone
Here is what happens when you block someone in WhatsApp on iPhone.
1. The blocked person will not receive a notification from WhatsApp about being blocked.
3. Messages sent by blocked Contacts will never show up on your iPhone and they will never be delivered to you.
4. Blocking someone in WhatsApp will not remove them from your WhatsApp Contact list, nor will it remove you from the WhatsApp Contact List of the other person.
5. The blocked person might be able to guess about being blocked by noticing the following signs.
- They are unable to see your ‘WhatsApp Last Seen’ or any other activity online.
- They begin to notice that sent messages (to you) are showing up with one check mark (message sent) and the second check mark (message delivered) is always missing.
- WhatsApp Calls to your number are not going through.